Home > Uncategorized > Top 5 sports to build muscle and get in shape

Top 5 sports to build muscle and get in shape

By: Hector Castro

In this new generation, everything seems to be about appearances. Everybody worries about weight loss and going to the gym. High school sports can help any student lose those extra pounds. The only thing that is needed is determination. By participating in a high school sport, you can lose the extra baggage and pick up some new skills.

Soccer helps students keep in shape.

The sports that would most benefit students looking for a fit body are swimming, wrestling, soccer, football and track. All of these sports have certain aspects which get you in shape.

1. Swimming exercises almost all the muscles in your body and improves general strength, cardiovascular fitness and endurance. It is proven that swimming burns about 3 calories a mile per pound of bodyweight. Swimming also has a relaxing and stress-relieving effect on students. It is a beneficial sport to join because it doesn’t strain the already stressed lives of students. If you want to build muscles, then join swimming.

According to Vincent Monroe, sophomore at Clark, “Swimming does help you a lot when trying to keep a good body. It relaxes me while I do it and I feel other people should try it too. Swimming helps me keep my nice body. That’s why I’m like this.”

2. Another good sport to help you lose fat and replace it with muscle mass is wrestling. Wrestling improves speed, flexibility, and strength as well as agility, stamina, and strategy. Anyone who does wrestling will lose excess weight and gain lean muscle. Wrestling also has a mental benefit which is more self discipline and self-confidence. About fifteen minutes of competitive wrestling can burn up to 150 calories. Wrestling will help you lose those extra calories and at the same time build lean muscle.

“I think wrestling helps your cardiovascular system and keeps you feeling good. I learned a lot of things from wrestling but specially time management. I had to manage my time because school and wrestling took most of my time. It helped me be more responsible,” states Juan Chavez Jr., a graduated wrestler from Clark HS.

3. Swimming and wrestling are great exercise sports but so is soccer. Soccer improves flexibility, muscular strength and endurance. It helps with aerobic capacity and cardiovascular health. It also lowers body fat and increases muscle tone. Mental benefits from soccer are coordination, team work and cooperation. Concentration, persistence, and self-esteem are some other benefits that come from playing soccer. Soccer will help you mentally and help you create muscles for a good body.

“It helps you on your physical appearance, it gets you healthy and you’re very active. I noticed that I got really skinny since I started doing soccer. I lost a lot of weight,” says Micheal Gomez, senior.

4. Football develops speed, balance, strength, agility, stamina, quickness and endurance.  Football players are less prone to suffer from succumb to depression. It also teaches you communication skills, sportsmanship, responsibility, determination and patience. Football also builds lean muscle and burns those excess calories. Football is a great sport to gain muscle.

5. Track and Field also helps to improve the body. Track runners who run more than fifty miles a week have a greater increase in HDL cholesterol (good fat), decrease in body fat, triglyceride levels, and have a lower risk of coronary heart disease. Long distance runners have 50% reduction in high blood pressure. Track improves aerobic fitness. Track sprinters gain strong legs while distance runners get leaner and have increased stamina. It also teaches commitment and dedication and gets you a good self esteem. Try track and get a first-hand look at the benefits that it offers.

“I think that track helps you be fitter by challenging your body to run more than usual. Yeah, I’ve noticed I’ve gotten fitter and healthier because when I run a mile, I have a faster time than before without all the hard breathing and stuff,” exclaims Anjel Luna, long distance runner for Clark Track and Field.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Tracey
    March 25, 2011 at 9:53 am

    Personally, I’m more of a fan of watching sports instead of participating in them.
    But out of those ideas, I’d decide to go inot wrestling. I love watching it and participating in wrestling would be so awesome. Well maybe I’ll join it next year.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

